Socks!

So I had this crazy idea to knit along with a sock-a-long that Kollabora was doing. I had never knitted anything other than scarves before, so the whole double pointed needle thing scared me a bit! The internet is really a great resource though, so I watched some videos and read a lot of tips and I ended up with a really awesome pair of socks out of it. And now I am way more excited about knitting and want to make everything I come across – too bad decent yarn is so expensive!

Image

Look how awesome they are!

The pattern I used was Hermione’s Everyday Socks, and I love the texture it creates. I had plenty of yarn leftover from one of the scarves I showed a couple of posts back and had some dpns that used to be my great-grandma’s, so I really had no excuse for not trying to knit-a-long. Especially since I was/am job hunting and have a lot more time on my hands than I’m used to!

Image

I documented the whole process since it was part of a knit-a-long. This was my first dpn adventure!

Image

There are imperfections, but I’m super happy with how these turned out! I’m already working on a second pair of socks and they’re going even better. I’m mostly attributing that to my new bamboo needles though – the stitches just slid around way too much on the metal ones.

Image

Almost done! I didn’t have a yarn needle so I ordered one online and had to wait foreeeever to finish up sock #1.

Image

Close up

Image

Blurry pic – oops! The best thing about doing this with the group is that I won some really cool yarn from it! It’s a raspberry colored fingering weight yarn from Jill Draper Makes Stuff, and I’m dreaming up what to do with it – maybe a shawl? I don’t want to hide such a lovely yarn away on my feet!

One thought on “Socks!

  1. I’ve just finished my first socks too! I love your version. I also kept putting mine on my feet when they were half finished 🙂

Leave a Reply

